5am urgh

So seen as I have little else to do at 5am I thought I should update this. I have been a little slack. Yet again. 


We are struggling to settle finley in at school so all my energy and worry has been on that this week. And he started football lessons last night which he loved. He is growing up into a smart, loving and incredibly funny little boy and it’s so frustrating that I want the world to see that but all they see is an unsociable non verbal child. Hopefully one day things will improve.

Jess is doing well back at school and has quit all her other hobbies in favour of the one that her life revolves around. Gymnastics. I think this may be karma for the dance shows and competitions I forced my parents through as a child as I am going to be a ‘gymnastics mum’ ha. Her face lights up when she is doing it though so I love to watch her. And I know I am biased but even her coaches said she is naturally talented. 

Now onto me. Am waiting to start the new job. As it’s in a care home I need references and police check back before I start. Am still really excited. Also officially started my degree now which is great. So all that is good. 

Also had my first appointment with the surgeon about having a gastric bypass. I have decided to go ahead. My health is just so rubbish that I want control over something. I have never ever been slim and this would mean hopefully within a year of the surgery I would be a normal weight. Which at the minute just feels like a dream. I am doing well with my diet though. This is the best I have done in so long. It helped hugely that my husband has done it as well. That support really helped. 


Health is pretty much the same. Now do most of my treatments at home which is good. A lot better than trecking to the hospital. Have considered changing hospitals but I really like my consultant and don’t want to leave him. Had picked a hospital near my inlaws so they could look after finley while I was there. Obviously I don’t need childcare while he is at school. But think I may just stick with the long drive for now. Still on the dmard injections (chemo drug). On the maximum dose and the disease is still spreading. My wrists and elbows are getting hit the hardest at the minute. So now waiting to add a biologic drug. The nurses did an ace job with blood taking this week…..


Generally just feeling tired all the time and my back is really sore and the only place I am comfortable is on the bed. Sometimes I feel like poor Rob gets home from work and I go straight upstairs. I need to suggest he comes up and watches a film with me up there. Need new sofas really. Ours were only cheap and are about 8 years old now. But just not in a position to spend money on them at the minute. In fairness need a new bed as well. Maybe after Christmas we could put my wage to one side every month. Until then santa needs all our spare money ha. 

My mood is so much better than it was. After a really low time I feel like I hit rock bottom and am on the way back up again. For those who know me well the friend who has caused me nothing but hassle has finally gone. He decided after I have been a good friend to him for 8 years that he doesn’t like me and can’t force himself to be friends with me. At first I was really upset, then it struck me he has done this many times before and will probably be back. And then struck me that I think I will be happier if he doesn’t come back. He is my worst critic and one of those people I hate who believe they can say what they think if it’s the truth no matter who it hurts. Why do people think their opinions are that important that people want to hear it. It’s my pet hate. It really is. I can’t stand the whole attitude of ‘I say what I think with no regard for anyone else’. I remember reading a rant a comedian Jason manford wrote about the same thing. And it was absolutely spot on. If someone says ‘I always say what I think’ to me I don’t see honesty. I see arrogancy and ignorance. So yeah…..he has gone ha. 

But I think it’s what I need. I am so lucky and happy with my current friends. Also just reconnected with a beat friend as well. We drifted apart down to a few things but saw each other Tuesday and it was great. We slipped back to how we were and I realised how much I missed her. She is away now for 12 weeks but I am convinced we will get back on track once she is home. I have always struggled with friends and it’s amazing to be at the point where I have a best friend and a handful of close friends. Kelly and Sarah have particularly dragged me through the last year and will always be grateful to them both and hope I am a good friend back. 

Ooh am also learning to swim again. It’s painful but it’s literally the only exercise I can do so I am determined to do it. I have my waterproof mp3 player so just lose myself in my music and try to get through it. My technique is improving. Had to cancel my second lesson thanks to my 9 month old car breaking. Now have a hire car so will be at my swimming lesson tomorrow yay. I aren’t convinced I am actually going any faster but think I am enjoying it more now. I will always miss the gym and dancing but needs must and I refuse to not exercise. 

Anyway I should really shut up. I now have finley downstairs with me too so am being subjected to rescue bots on Netflix while I have a dog and cat fighting over who is sitting on my knee.

Ooh last thing. My puppy is all grown up and is now off lead at the park. Makes walks on crutches a pleasure now ha. 


Right promise I will shut up now. This is a sure sign I have cheered up ha ha. 

Leave a Reply

