The worst few weeks 

So this is a hard post. And I delayed it until it was an appropriate time to talk about the last few weeks. 

I managed to collapse in morrisons which was no fun. And have had to go to hospital for blood transfusions and steroid infusion as my kidneys and liver aren’t working as they should be. They have tried to admit me to hospital but had to refuse as I needed to be at home with the kids so I could free up Rob to be with his family. So it has been really hard. My pain levels are through the roof at the minute so thats a run down of my health. 

On the plus side I have finally been happy using my wheelchair and mobility scooter. Used my wheelchair to go to a local light display with our family and my best friend and her family and honestly had a great time. My wheelchair didn’t make it worse at all. It made it better as I wasnt in agony and miserable. And as I am so weak at the minute it meant I could actually do it. Without the wheelchair I wouldn’t have done. I have been in danger of staying home too much because it’s easy but this really helped to remind me that I can have a good time. 


And then on the Sunday me and Rob went to white rose and I used my scooter and yet again it didn’t ruin my trip. So a lot more positive about actually being able to enjoy myself. 

And then my new job is finally about to start. I am starting my training this week. Had an absolute nightmare getting a reference from my old job. Two months it has taken and eventually had to complain to head office. But it’s finally sorted. So excited to be back in the world of work. Quite excited to be back in an admin role too. Got some nice skirts to wear so looking forward to getting started. I really need to start doing some work on my degree too. These last few weeks have just been non stop. 

My next update is Jess. She is doing good. Had parents evening and after having quite a difficult year last year with her teacher I really like this one. She is doing really well at school and makes me so proud at who she is becoming. 

Then onto Finley. My little fighter. He has settled into school a lot better but I had a harsh week with having to accept the reality of life for Finley. His problems aren’t enough to stop him understanding. He is very aware that he can’t talk like everyone else and he doesn’t think like others. I had an appointment with his paediatrician and it was hard. We were talking about diagnosis. We are no closer to one and he said as at the moment his problems don’t tick the box of one thing we may not get one. He has autism traits, he has specific language impairment, he has some adhd traits and has sleep disorders. They said at the moment they would class him as learning and speech disabilities and I found that really hard to take. He is such a clever funny little boy who is so incredibly affectionate that I find it hard to accept a learning disability. But the doctor was good at helping me understand. She said it isn’t that his iq is lower or that he can’t learn. Just that his brain works differently. And then we went to his football class on Friday and he just seemed to stand out so much for being different. I spoke with his teacher who agreed we can help more as he is in his own world. During the matches he was just running in circles and not even looking at the ball. But bless the teacher then gave him man of the match for effort and I nearly cried. Just so lovely that he is the only ‘different’ child there yet they are so accepting of him. 


Now onto why our last few weeks have been so hard. My wonderful father in law has fought cancer for the last few years more bravely than I can ever imagine anybody could. He has never given in or wallowed in the hand he was dealt. I have always been incredibly lucky to have such a wonderful family as my inlaws. He has always been a great grandfather and without him I wouldn’t have my wonderful husband. Rob has so many personality traits of his dad and so many similar physical attributes. This wonderful brave man lost his fight. And it really was a fight. 

We love you George and will miss you always xx 

Leave a Reply

