All change

So for a little while I was doing OK. Even managing to not use crutches for a bit then bang!! My horrible immune system decided to let me know who is boss. My joints are visibly inflamed. Walking is incredibly difficult and painful, I need help with the most basic of tasks and I feel horrific and honestly if it wasn’t for being a mum I would probably stay in bed every day. Both my liver and kidney functions are impaired so feeling rubbish. 

And then I have turned into someone who ‘has a fall’. Pretty much most days. So applied for a disability grant for a stair lift. Which is a process where loads of different professionals write reports saying I am pretty much useless and can’t do anything for myself. And then they have also recommended I have an assessment for a carer and other alterations in the house to make it more disabled friendly. 

And then have decided I hate my mobility scooter and the stigma associated with them. So going to sell that and get an electric wheelchair. Plus it would serve me better now. Initially the idea with the scooter was that I could walk short distances. Those distances are becoming shorter and shorter so me getting out of the wheelchair is now becoming less likely. Me using the wheelchair in the house is becoming more likely now so access is also on the list of things to sort out. 

And then my last moan is having to quit my job. I couldn’t go on Sunday and honestly shouldn’t have gone the last few weeks but am stubborn. I feel too ill to be stubborn anymore so I had to admit I simply can’t do it. I have no energy for anything. I haven’t been going swimming and am stupidly behind with my degree. 

So my priority next week is the degree. Apart from the kids I literally have nothing else to take up my time now. So apart from sleeping while they are at school I don’t have much else to do. So I really need to get motivated and do it. I think swimming is a no though as I simply can’t deal with the pain of getting ready afterwards. So thinking of trying some kind of yoga at home. But need to find something I can do. 

So this is possibly the most negative blog ever. Hence it’s been so long between them. 

So on a positive. Kids are great. And the one great thing to come out of leaving work is that I have really missed them on a weekend. I am determined to drag myself out of bed and into the wheelchair so we can go places on a weekend. 

So that’s a brief summary of the last few months. So I don’t have to tell everyone separately. I have a bit of a habit of being unsociable at the minute so people might need to kick me into action if they want to see me ha. 

Leave a Reply

